Q&A!

I love interacting with people on Instagram and have been wanting to do a post like this for a while! Figured a Q&A was the perfect way for ya’ll to learn more about me 🙂 So here we go!

1.  What app do you use to keep track of your macros? Do your macros change if you exercise?

I use an app called myfitnesspal.  I find it easy to use and it does increase my macros based upon how much cardio I do that day. The percentages of each macro stay the same but the grams increase! Currently I try to get 45% of my calories from carbs, 25% from fat and 30% from protein.  If I do zero cardio my macros are 1920 calories, 216C/144P/53F but today for example I did a long run (53min) and walked a lot and my macros increased to 275C/183P/67F and 2435 calories.

2. How come you are able to eat a lot of carbs and sweets while still staying toned and slim?

Work hard play hard! haha I work hard in the gym and my body needs lots of macronutrients and calories to replenish itself.  I also run a lot so my body needs a lot of carbs to fuel all my running and lifting.  Your body doesn’t know what types of foods you are eating, it just sees the grams of fat, carbs and protein you are eating regardless of the source.  Think about it this way, you could eat a serving of ice cream for 90 calories, 17g carbs (12 of which are sugar), 3g protein and 3g fat or you could eat a small banana which also is 90 calories, 23g carb (12 of which are sugar), 0g fat and 1g protein.  Both options are carb heavy, so it just depends on what you are in the mood to eat.  I have a giant sweet tooth and at the end of the day I just want to eat a giant bowl of dessert.  Following the “if it fits your macros” style of eating has helped me incorporate lots of sweet foods into my diet while making sure they are within the limits of my carbohydrate and fat needs for that day 🙂

3. How do you stick to your lifting regimen when you feel discouraged about your present body shape?

Wear loose clothing….half joking but half serious haha. Days where I am not feeling too hot about myself I will just dress in a giant t-shirt rather than a tight shirt so that way I can focus on my workout and not what I look like while working out.  I remind myself that lifting is going to make me strong and healthy.  I try not to focus on aesthetics and focus on how AMAZING it is that I am healthy enough to be able to go to the gym and work out!! Think about it, not everyone has the luxury to do that.  Embrace your shape and be happy and thankful that you are doing something good for your current and future health 🙂

4. Do you think eating the bulk of your calories later in the day impacts your physique or how you feel?

The short answer is no. Haha I used to be afraid of eating lots of calories later in the day but it’s been happening more often now because of my work/class schedules.  I do try to make sure I eat around 600 calories for breakfast so that I have some fuel for the morning!  And honestly I enjoy coming home after a long day and just being able to watch tv and eat my giant dessert and being lazy.  It doesn’t make me more bloated in the morning or anything and it’s probably helpful for me because I do fasted cardio first thing when I wake up.

5. What are you studying in school?

I got my undergraduate degree in exercise and sports science and now I am getting my MS in nutrition with the hopes of becoming a registered dietitian. I am also trying to study right now to get my ACSM personal trainer certification!

6. What is your favorite dessert ever? 

It’s so hard to pick just one…I legit have the biggest sweet tooth ever.  First off,  whatever dessert I eat needs to have whip cream on it…I am addicted to whip cream!! Secondly, if i’m eating cake, it needs to be like 2/3 icing and 1/3 cake haha frosting is the best part in my opinion.  I think my favorite dessert would be some sort of chocolate tuxedo cheesecake, super fudgy and sweet!

7. How many calories do you eat in a day and what are your macros? Also were you trying to lose weight before your fitness journey or trying to gain weight?

My macros change based upon how much cardio I do that day. If I do zero cardio (which never really happens) my macros are 1920 calories, 216C/144P/53F.  I would say that I usually eat between 1950 and 2300 calories a day depending on how much exercise I did that day.

8. If you ever fall off the wagon (binge, overeat, etc) how do you deal mentally and emotionally but also physically?

This is definitely something that took me a long time to be comfortable with mentally.  For the longest time I was in a cycle of restricting my diet, followed by binge eating and then hating myself for it. Then I would just restrict again to “make up” for the binge.  This mentality/lifestyle got me NO WHERE. I literally remember thinking that I was going to be stuck living like that forever and it made me want to cry.  Slowly but surely I got help and worked extremely hard at changing my perspective with regards to occasional “slip-ups” in routine.

First off, I think that it is important to never think of overindulging or binging as a failure.  I try really hard now to never say bad things to myself because there is no point in making me feel worse about myself in a situation like that.  Rather, take it as a learning experience.  Why did you feel the need to binge? What triggered it? I realized half the time I was doing it as a way to distract myself from other things (ex. I don’t want to do study….i’m gonna go peek in the kitchen for a treat first….5 boxes of cookies later…woops).   I think that recognizing the triggers is one way to avoid it in the future.

Secondly, I now try to tell myself all the things I love about myself and distract myself with other things.  For example, there have definitely been times where I ate half a tub of cool whip or icecream before bed just because it sounded delicious….didn’t fit my macros…wasn’t hungry…not part of routine…but its okay!  The next morning I wake up and rather than dwell on what I ate the night before I just try really hard to move on.  One slip up will not kill you or your diet! Remind yourself how strong you are and that you have friends and family that will love you whether or not you ate 10 cookies last night or not.  I know that it’s not easy to overlook the bad things and just compliment yourself after what you may view as a slip-up but it is worth it! It took me YEARS to be able to stop punishing myself and even now it still crosses my mind sometimes but then I think about how far I’ve come mentally and how much more it would mean for me to keep moving forward than backwards.  I also still eat a normal breakfast and exercise as I normally would rather than starve myself or exercise excessively.  Honestly it’s not gonna make any significant change and starving yourself the next morning is just gonna set you up for another binge.

9. What is your workout routine like?

I do cardio everyday and lift five days a week (2 leg days and 3 upper body).  I usually separate my cardio based on my class schedule (example: run before class in the morning and lift later in the afternoon).  I run less on leg day and do long runs on the weekend.  I ran crosscountry in highschool so I genuinely just love running and that’s why I do it daily. Here is an example week of workouts!

Monday: medium distance run (40ish min) and 50min lifting biceps/triceps/abs

Tuesday: short run (15is min) and 50 min lifting glutes/legs

Wed: medium distance run (40ish min) and 50 min lifting back/abs/shoulders

Thursday: short run (15ish min) and 50 min lifting legs/glutes

Friday: medium run (30ish min) and 50 min lifting biceps/triceps/abs

Saturday: long run (50ish min)

Sun: whatever distance my body is feeling that day run (anything from 25-50min)

10. How do I put on weight in a healthy way?

In order to make sure that you are gaining muscle rather than fat it is important to keep track of your macronutrients (carbs, fats, proteins)! The ratio of these is what is going to make sure that you gain weight in a healthy way.  I would advise increasing your protein intake (most people don’t get enough of this) but don’t be afraid of carbs! Carbs will def have to increase too because they are your bodies main fuel source.  If you have a lotttt of weight to gain then you are gonna need to eat high calorie foods (it’s gonna be impossible to eat 3,000 calories worth of veggies and fruits lol) which will mean that you can enjoy sweets, etc.  Just got to make sure that your macronutrient distribution is in order.  I would advise using an app such as myfitnesspal to keep track of your activity levels and food. There are also good macronutrient needs calculators online.   I would also slowly increase your calories.  Maybe try to increase by 50-100 calories each week until you get to your goal number of calories. I found that mentally and physically easier than just eating 300 more calories all of a sudden. Also make sure you are lifting heavy! Do not be afraid of weights! You will not get bulky, I promise and all the food you will be eating will be going towards those working muscles 🙂

11. Before my fitness journey was I trying to gain weight or lose weight?

Honestly, I have always been a slim girl. Before working out I never even thought about my weight. But then in highschool I started running crosscountry and starting struggling with disordered eating. Soooo I was always trying to lose weight (or just make sure I didn’t gain weight) in super unhealthy ways.

5 thoughts on “Q&A!

    1. Thanks for the question 🙂 before traveling I think it is important to mentally be prepared for being away from your routine. I know that I tend to get anxious when my normal routine is interrupted so I first mentally reassure myself that it is okay to deviate from my norm on vacation and that a few days away from routine is okay and that I should enjoy my time away! I don’t lift while on vacation but if I stay at a place with a gym I usually still try to do some light cardio in the morning. I usually will only do like 15 min of HIIT. It’s not much but it makes me feel good about myself and still leaves plenty of time to enjoy my vacation time. I also don’t really track macros religiously while on vacation. I may loosely track them but I tend to just follow a more intuitive style of eating and eat when I am hungry and stop when I am full. I don’t usually go crazy and stuff myself with food but I do enjoy treats. When I go out to eat at restaurants I order what I want (which is usually something like a good salad or sandwich bc that is honestly the type of foods I enjoy but I will also eat fries or whatever too). So I would say try to make healthy choices but don’t be afraid to enjoy treats! As long as you listen to your body and eat when you are hungry and stop when you are full, you can enjoy yummy foods without feeling super bloated and icky 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I stumbled across your instagram, and brought me here, wow what an amazing website! I have read your Q&A and seem to be stuck in the same cycle you were in! restrict, binge, guilt, restrict, binge, guilt. I like you have a huge sweet tooth! quick question, how do you know how many calories to have? I want to start doing weights but have no idea where to start with macros! any advice would be much appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

