Chocolate Chip Protein Drops (with chickpeas)

Happy Friday friends! After having success making black bean brownies and sweet potato cake I wanted to try making something with chickpeas. So I spent the afternoon baking, threw random ingredients together in a bowl and hoped for the best. Thankfully it was successful!! So the reason I called these protein “drops” was because the batter is versatile sooo I felt an ambiguous name such as “drops” was appropriate.  After I made the batter I stared at it and couldn’t decide whether to make cookies or muffins or bars with it….went for cookies! They turned out great as cookies but were definitely more cakey/moist and thicker than your average cookie.  For that reason I think they would also make great muffins and/or bars. If anyone makes this as a muffin tag me in it on insta and let me know how it is!!!! Also I gave one of the cookies to my friend and told him nothing about the ingredients. All I said was I made a cookie, is it good?  He said YES! Little did he know it had garbanzos in it and after I told him he said he never would have known! TRUE STORY! So trust me, you can’t taste them at all 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 can drained garbanzo beans
  • 1.5 scoops cellucor vanilla whey protein (use my code “eatandrepeat” for 25% off!!!!)
  • 1 tb cinnamon
  • 1 ts baking soda
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 2 tb mini chocolate chips
  • 8 packets Splenda (or as much/little as your heart desires)

Method:

Put the garbanzos in a food processor and mix them up.  Add in all the other ingredients except for the chocolate chips (add a tb or two of water if needed).  Take the batter out of the food processor and fold in the chocolate chips.  If making cookies, scoop out spoon-sized drops onto sprayed baking sheet and cook at 350 for 10 min.  When they are done they should be a little golden on top but still slightly soft if you poke it (don’t overbake because you want them to stay soft and moist!).

Macros (for 1 out of 11 servings):  66 calories  8.4C/5.3P/1.6F and 2.1g fiber

12658033_10154720378762195_8816610956203895829_o

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Protein Drops (with chickpeas)

Leave a Reply

